Our contribution to the

SDGs

Sustainable Development Goals

Leaving no one behind

The Sustainable Development Goals of the United Nations

“Leaving no one behind” is the motto under which the Sustainable Development Goals of the United Nations were adopted in September 2015. The Sustainable Development Goals, or SDGs for short, build on the Millennium Development Goals from the year 2000, which they are intended to expand and complete at the same time.

The 17 SDGs, with a total of 169 subgoals, understand the term sustainability comprehensively in its three dimensions: economic, social and ecological. If the SDGs are to be achieved by 2030 as targeted, major efforts will still be needed. Even before the spread of the Corona virus in 2020, the global community was in danger of missing the targets, which is why the United Nations has declared the remaining time a “Decade of Action.” The pandemic and its economic impact further exacerbated the situation.

Redirecting private capital (estimated to be $463.6 trillion globally at the end of 2021) into sustainable economic sectors and activities that contribute to the Sustainable Development Goals is now more important than ever!

By investing through the financial inclusion funds we manage (microfinance and SME finance), we are contributing to the achievement of at least five of the 17 SDGs – namely SDG 1 “No Poverty,” SDG 5 “Gender Equality,” SDG 8 “Decent Work and Economic Growth,” SDG 9 “Industry, Innovation and Infrastructure,” and SDG 10 ” Reduced Inequalities.”

SDG 1

No poverty

End poverty in all its forms, everywhere.

SDG 2

Zero hunger

End hunger, achieve food security and improved nutrition, and promote sustainable agriculture.

SDG 3

Good health and well-being

Ensuring a healthy life for all people of all ages and promoting their well-being.

SDG 4

Quality education

Ensure inclusive, equitable and quality education and promote lifelong learning opportunities for all.

SDG 5

Gender equality

Achieve gender equality and self-determination for all women and girls.

SDG 6

Clean water and sanitation

Ensure availability and sustainable management of water and sanitation for all.

SDG 7

Affordable and clean energy

Ensure access to affordable, reliable, sustainable and modern energy for all.

SDG 8

Decent work and economic growth

Promote lasting, inclusive and sustainable economic growth, productive full employment and decent work for all.

SDG 9

Industry, innocation and infrastructure

Build a resilient infrastructure, promote inclusive and sustainable industrialization and support innovation.

SDG 10

Reduced inequalities

Reduce inequality within and between countries.

SDG 11

Sustainable cities and communities

Make cities and human settlements inclusive, safe, resilient and sustainable.

SDG 12

Responsible consumption and production

Ensure sustainable consumption and production patterns.

SDG 13

Climate action

Take urgent action to combat climate change and its impacts.

SDG 14

Life below water

Conserve and sustainably use oceans, seas and marine resources for sustainable development.

SDG 15

Life on land

Protect, restore and promote sustainable use of terrestrial ecosystems, sustainably manage forests, combat desertification, halt and reverse land degradation and halt biodiversity loss.

SDG 16

Peace, justice and strong institutions

Promote peaceful and inclusive societies for sustainable development, provide access to justice for all and build effective, accountable and inclusive institutions at all levels.

SDG 17

Partnerships for the goals

Strengthen the means of implementation and revitalize the global partnership for sustainable development.

SDG 1

End poverty in all its forms everywhere

Despite all the progress made in poverty reduction, 8.2 percent of the world’s population still lived below the international poverty line of 1.90 US dollars a day in 2019. As a result of the COVID-19 pandemic, the World Bank estimates that an additional 70 to 100 million people will slip into this extreme poverty. It is the poorest and most vulnerable who suffer the most from the economic consequences of the crisis – through loss of work, illness, overstretched health systems and the absence of social safety nets. Microloans and other financial services are particularly important in this situation. For example, they promote income generation activities or support low-income people to survive financial bottlenecks. More than half of the loan portfolio of the investment funds we manage was used in the services and commercial sectors last year, 22 percent benefited agriculture.

 

See Impact Report 2022 (page 35)

SDG 5

Achieve gender equality and empower all women and girls

In many countries, women are legally, socially and economically disadvantaged compared to men. This has a negative impact on their self-determination in many areas of life, such as family planning or the pursuit of income-generating activities. The granting of small loans to women in developing and emerging countries contributes to improving the economic situation and status of these women, thereby enabling them to achieve greater self-determination in other areas as well. More than 80 per cent of the loans granted in 2022 benefited women.

See Impact Report 2022 (page 35)

SDG 8

Promote inclusive and sustainable economic growth, employment and decent work for all

Just to keep pace with population growth, the International Finance Corporation, a private sector-oriented subsidiary of the World Bank, estimates that some 3.3 million additional jobs will need to be created each month in developing and emerging economies by 2030.1 This figure is likely to be even higher, as it is based on assumptions made before the COVID-19 crisis. Small businesses play a special role here, creating nine out of ten jobs worldwide. However, it is in the area of micro-, small and medium-sized enterprises – which UN Secretary-General António Guterres recently described as the “economic lifeblood of communities worldwide”2 – that a financing gap of US$ 5.2 trillion (US$ 718.8 billion for micro-enterprises and US$ 4.5 trillion for SMEs) exists in developing and emerging economies. Promoting the growth of such enterprises through the provision of loans and other financial services is therefore an indispensable building block for achieving the eighth Sustainable Development Goal.

SDG 9

Build resilient infrastructure, promote sustainable industrialization and foster innovation

This sustainable development goal focuses on the manufacturing sector and small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs). They often lack access to affordable loans. This deprives them of the capital they need for further development and job creation. The financial institutions of which the funds we manage acquire unsecuritized loan receivables do not lend exclusively to micro-borrowers, but also to a certain extent to enterprises with higher financial needs.

SDG 10

Reduce inequality within and among countries

Before the Corona pandemic, inequality had been trending downwards worldwide. The so-called Gini coefficient had decreased in 38 out of 84 countries worldwide between 2010 and 2017. This coefficient shows how equally or unequally wealth and income are distributed in a region or country. During the pandemic, the most vulnerable groups, such as the elderly, children, women and migrants, were the most affected. To reduce inequality in countries, the funds we manage particularly refinance financial institutions in countries that are economically less strong. In 2022, just under half of the loan portfolio was deployed in countries that are in the lower income segment.

See Impact Report 2022 (page 21)

Unser Beitrag zu den

SDGs

Sustainable Development Goals

Leave no one behind

Die nachhaltigen Entwicklungsziele der Vereinten Nationen

„Leave no one behind“ lautet die Devise, unter der im September 2015 die nachhaltigen Entwicklungsziele der Vereinten Nationen verabschiedet wurden. Die Sustainable Development Goals, kurz SDGs, bauen auf den Millennium Development Goals aus dem Jahr 2000 auf, die sie zugleich erweitern und vollenden sollen.

Dabei verstehen die 17 SDGs mit ihren insgesamt 169 Unterzielen den Begriff Nachhaltigkeit umfassend in seinen drei Dimensionen: wirtschaftlich, sozial, ökologisch. Sollten die SDGs wie angestrebt bis 2030 erreicht werden, sind noch große Anstrengungen notwendig. Bereits vor der Ausbreitung des Corona-Virus im Jahr 2020 drohte die Weltgemeinschaft die Ziele zu verfehlen, weshalb die Vereinten Nationen die verbliebene Zeit zum „Jahrzehnt des Handelns“ ausgerufen haben. Die Pandemie und ihre ökonomischen Auswirkungen haben die Situation weiter verschärft.

Das Umleiten von privatem Kapital (geschätztes Volumen Ende 2021 weltweit: 463,6 Billionen US-Dollar) in nachhaltige Wirtschaftssektoren und -tätigkeiten, die zu den Nachhaltigkeitszielen beitragen, ist nun wichtiger denn je!

Mit unseren Investitionen über die von uns gemanagten Fonds im Bereich der finanziellen Inklusion (Mikrofinanz und KMU-Finanzierung) tragen wir zur Verwirklichung von mindestens fünf der 17 SDGs bei – und zwar zu SDG 1 “No Poverty”, SDG 5 “Gender Equality”, SDG 8 “Decent Work and Economic Growth”, SDG 9 “Industry, Innovation and Infrastructure” sowie SDG 10 ” Reduced Inequalities”.

SDG 1

No poverty

Armut in allen ihren Formen und überall beenden.

SDG 2

Zero hunger

Den Hunger beenden, Ernährungssicherheit und eine bessere Ernährung erreichen und eine nachhaltige Landwirtschaft fördern.

SDG 3

Good health and well-being

Ein gesundes Leben für alle Menschen jeden Alters gewährleisten und ihr Wohlergehen fördern.

SDG 4

Quality education

Inklusive, gleichberechtigte und hochwertige Bildung gewährleisten und Möglichkeiten lebenslangen Lernens für alle fördern.

SDG 5

Gender equality

Geschlechtergerechtigkeit und Selbstbestimmung für alle Frauen und Mädchen erreichen.

SDG 6

Clean water and sanitation

Verfügbarkeit und nachhaltige Bewirtschaftung von Wasser und Sanitärversorgung für alle gewährleisten.

SDG 7

Affordable and clean energy

Zugang zu bezahlbarer, verlässlicher, nachhaltiger und moderner Energie für alle sichern.

SDG 8

Decent work and economic growth

Dauerhaftes, breitenwirksames und nachhaltiges Wirtschaftswachstum, produktive Vollbeschäftigung und menschenwürdige Arbeit für alle fördern.

SDG 9

Industry, innocation and infrastructure

Eine widerstandsfähige Infrastruktur aufbauen, breitenwirksame und nachhaltige Industrialisierung fördern und Innovationen unterstützen.

SDG 10

Reduced inequalities

Ungleichheit in und zwischen Ländern verringern.

SDG 11

Sustainable cities and communities

Städte und Siedlungen inklusiv, sicher, widerstandsfähig und nachhaltig gestalten.

SDG 12

Responsible consumption and production

Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen.

SDG 13

Climate action

Umgehend Maßnahmen zur Bekämpfung des Klimawandels und seiner Auswirkungen ergreifen.

SDG 14

Life below water

Ozeane, Meere und Meeresressourcen im Sinne nachhaltiger Entwicklung erhalten und nachhaltig nutzen.

SDG 15

Life on land

Landökosysteme schützen, wiederherstellen und ihre nachhaltige Nutzung fördern, Wälder nachhaltig bewirtschaften, Wüstenbildung bekämpfen, Bodendegradation beenden und umkehren und dem Verlust der biologischen Vielfalt ein Ende setzen.

SDG 16

Peace, justice and strong institutions

Friedliche und inklusive Gesellschaften für eine nachhaltige Entwicklung fördern, allen Menschen Zugang zur Justiz ermöglichen und leistungsfähige, rechenschaftspflichtige und inklusive Institutionen auf allen Ebenen aufbauen.

SDG 17

Partnerships for the goals

Umsetzungsmittel stärken und die globale Partnerschaft für nachhaltige Entwicklung wiederbeleben.

SDG 1

Armut in jeder Form und überall beenden

Trotz aller Fortschritte in der Armutsbekämpfung lebten im Jahr 2019 noch 8,2 Prozent der Weltbevölkerung unterhalb der internationalen Armutsgrenze von 1,90 US-Dollar am Tag. Als Folge der COVID-19-Pandemie werden laut Schätzungen der Weltbank zusätzlich zwischen 70 und 100 Millionen Menschen in diese extreme Armut abrutschen. Gerade die Ärmsten und Schwächsten leiden am stärksten unter den ökonomischen Folgen der Krise – durch den Verlust von Arbeit, Krankheit, durch überforderte Gesundheitssysteme und das Fehlen sozialer Sicherungsnetze. Mikrokredite und andere Finanzdienstleistungen sind in dieser Situation besonders wichtig. Denn sie fördern z.B. Tätigkeiten zur Einkommensgenerierung oder unterstützen einkommensschwache Menschen, finanzielle Engpässe zu überstehen. Mehr als die Hälfte unseres Darlehensportfolios der von uns gemanagten Fonds wurde 2022 in den Sektoren Dienstleistungen und Gewerbe eingesetzt. 22 Prozent kamen der Landwirtschaft zugute.

Siehe Impact Report 2022 (Seite 35)

SDG 5

Geschlechtergerechtigkeit und Selbstbestimmung für alle Frauen und Mädchen erreichen

In zahlreichen Ländern werden Frauen gegenüber Männern rechtlich, sozial und ökonomisch benachteiligt. Dies wirkt sich negativ auf ihre Selbstbestimmung in vielen Lebensbereichen aus, wie beispielsweise auf die Familienplanung oder die Ausübung einkommensgenerierender Tätigkeiten. Die Vergabe von Kleinkrediten an Frauen in Entwicklungs- und Schwellenländern trägt dazu bei, die wirtschaftliche Lage und den Status dieser Frauen zu verbessern und ihnen dadurch auch in anderen Bereichen mehr Selbstbestimmung zu ermöglichen. Über 80 Prozent der vergebenen Kredite kamen 2022 Frauen zugute.

Siehe Impact Report 2022 (Seite 35)

SDG 8

Dauerhaftes, inklusives und nachhaltiges Wirtschaftswachstum, produktive Vollbeschäftigung und menschenwürdige Arbeit für alle fördern

Allein um mit dem Bevölkerungswachstum Schritt zu halten, müssen nach Schätzungen der International Finance Corporation, einer privatwirtschaftlich orientierten Tochter der Weltbank, in den Entwicklungs- und Schwellenländern bis zum Jahr 2030 monatlich rund 3,3 Millionen zusätzliche Arbeitsplätze geschaffen werden. Die Zahl dürfte sogar noch größer sein, da der Wert auf Annahmen basiert, die vor der COVID-19-Krise aufgestellt wurden. Eine besondere Rolle spielen dabei kleine Unternehmen, die weltweit neun von zehn Arbeitsplätze schaffen. Gerade im Bereich von Kleinst-, Klein- und Mittelunternehmen – die UN-Generalsekretär António Guterres vor Kurzem als „wirtschaftliches Herzblut von Gemeinschaften weltweit“ bezeichnet hat  – klafft in den Entwicklungs- und Schwellenländern jedoch eine Finanzierungslücke von 5,2 Billionen US-Dollar (718,8 Milliarden für Mikrounternehmen und 4,5 Billionen für SME). Das Wachstum solcher Unternehmen durch die Bereitstellung von Darlehen und weiteren Finanzdienstleistungen zu fördern, ist daher ein unverzichtbarer Baustein für die Verwirklichung des achten Nachhaltigkeitsziels.

SDG 9

Eine belastbare Infrastruktur aufbauen, inklusive und nachhaltige Industrialisierung fördern und Innovationen unterstützen

Bei diesem nachhaltigen Entwicklungsziel stehen das produzierende Gewerbe sowie kleinere und mittlere Unternehmen (KMU; engl. Small and Medium-sized Enterprises bzw. SME) im Fokus. Ihnen fehlt oft der Zugang zu bezahlbaren Darlehen. Dadurch wird ihnen das Kapital zu ihrer weiteren Entwicklung und der Schaffung von Arbeitsplätzen vorenthalten. Die Finanzinstitute, an die wir Darlehen über die von uns gemanagten Fonds vergeben, reichen diese nicht ausschließlich an Mikrokreditnehmer, sondern zu einem bestimmten Teil auch an Unternehmen weiter, die einen höheren Finanzbedarf haben.

SDG 10

Ungleichheit in und zwischen Ländern verringern

Vor der Corona-Pandemie hatte die Ungleichheit weltweit tendenziell abgenommen. Der sogenannte Gini-Koeffizient war zwischen 2010 und 2017 in 38 von 84 Ländern weltweit gesunken. Dieser Koeffizient zeigt an, wie gleich oder ungleich Vermögen und Einkommen in einer Region bzw. einem Land verteilt sind. In der Pandemie sind die am meisten gefährdeten Gruppen wie ältere Menschen, Kinder, Frauen und Migranten, am stärksten betroffen. Um die Ungleichheit in den Ländern zu verringern, refinanzieren die von uns gemanagten Fonds insbesondere Finanzinstitute in den Ländern, die wirtschaftlich weniger stark sind. Im Jahr 2022 wurde knapp die Hälfte des Darlehensportfolios in Ländern eingesetzt, die sich im unteren Einkommenssegment befinden.

Siehe Impact Report 2022 (Seite 21)